
Judges of Justice Courts of Brazos County, Texas
Michael P. McCleary

Wellborn Road South of Rock Prairie Road
Justice of the Peace  Precinct  1
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 114

Wellborn, TX 77881
12845 FM 2154 - Suite 180
College Station, TX 77845

(979) 695-0136     Fax (979) 695-0324
e-mail: jp1@co.brazos.tx.us

The County of Brazos has contracted with the Texas 
Department of Public Safety (DPS) to report instances 
of Failure to Appear (FTA) or Violate Promise to Appear 
(VPTA) within 10 business days required by the citation 

and all instances of a failure to pay any class c 
misdemeanor judgement and sentence. You may be 

denied renewal of you drivers license by the DPS 
should you fail to appear or pay your fine by 

order of the court.

Rick Hill
Anderson @ George Bush Drive

Justice of the Peace,  Precinct 3
1500 George Bush Drive

College Station, TX  77840
(979) 693-2695   Fax  (979) 764-1909

e-mail: jp3@co.brazos.tx.us

Tommy A. Munoz
Across from Bryan Police Dept.

Justice of the Peace,  Precinct 2 
200 S. Texas Ave. Suite 114

Bryan, TX 77803
(979) 361-4190     Fax (979) 361-4191

e-mail: jp2-2@co.brazos.tx.us

Louis Garcia Jr.
Constable Annex across street from Brazos County Tax 

Office
Justice of the Peace  Precinct 4

206 N. Washington
Bryan, TX 77803

(979) 361-4402     Fax (979) 361-4502
e-mail: jp4@co.brazos.tx.us

JUSTICE COURT COURTESY LETTER
 
This letter is furnished as a courtesy to you by the Justice Courts of Brazos County to assist you in processing the charges filed against you.
 1.	 PLEASE NOTE:   The Judge cannot discuss the merits of a pending judicial proceeding prior to trial (Canon 3(5), Code of Judicial Conduct).  

This means the Judge cannot discuss your citation with you before the trial except for procedural questions.

2.	 If you FAIL TO RESPOND to the charges BY THE APPEARANCE DATE SHOWN ON THE CITATION, your fine may increase, an additional 
charge may be filed against you for Violate Promise to Appear with warrants issued for your arrest.  (WARRANT FEES OF $50.00  will 
be issued on each charge for  EXECUTING OR PROCESSING A WARRANT.)

3.	 A JUVENILE who fails to appear by the time and date on a citation may have their license suspended as required by law (Transportation 
Code Section 729.001).  (Juveniles Must be accompanied by parent or guardian for NON TRAFFIC OFFENSES.)

4.	 If you wish to  ENTER a PLEA OF GUILTY or NOLO CONTENDERE, please indicate in the proper space provided.  A plea of Nolo Con-
tendere means that you do not contest the state's charges against you.  The fine and conviction for a Nolo Contendere plea is the same 
as that for a plea of Guilty.  Either plea indicates that you agree to waive appearance before the Court for trial.

Refer to the schedule shown on the reverse side to determine the total amount of fine(s) and costs acceptable by the Court. (These 
fines apply only to cases handled prior to court trial or judgment being entered.)  RETURN A COPY OF THE CITATION AND THIS 
LETTER WITH YOUR REMITTANCE TO ASSURE PROPER CREDIT.

5.	 If you wish to enter a plea of NOT GUILTY and desire a trial, advise the court by checking #4 on the Reply Form on or before the appear-
ance     

	 date.  You will be notified by the court when to appear for trial and any specific requirements of the court concerning bail requirements, 	
	etc.

6.	 DRIVING SAFETY COURSE (CCP Art. 45.0511, Driving Safety Course or Motorcycle Operator Course Dismissal Procedures):  (Holders
	 of a CDL are NOT eligible for DSC.)

A)	 You may be able to have this charge dismissed by successfully completing a driving safety course or a motorcycle operator training 
course. You will lose that right if, on or before your appearance date, you do not provide the court with notice of your request  to take 
the course.

B)	 A CHARGE MAY BE DISMISSED BY COMPLETING A DRIVING SAFETY COURSE IF:
1.	 You submit your application for the Driving Safety Course and it is approved by the Court.
2.	 You are charged with a moving traffic violation other than 25 mph or more above the posted speed limit, or a speed of 95 mph 

or higher, passing a school bus, construction zone violations w/ workers present, or certain offenses involving traffic accidents;
3.	 You have not completed an approved driving safety course in this state or another state during the 12 months immediately 

preceding the date of your ticket.
4.	 You have a valid Texas Driver License other than a Commercial Driver License and you provide the court a copy.
5.	 You provide the court with proof of liability insurance that complies with state law.
6.	 You pay the court costs of the ticket ($112.00) in the form of a cashier's check or money order made out to Brazos County.
7.	 After the Court receives items requested in lines #1, #4, #5, and #6, due on or before your appearance date written on your 

ticket, you will be given 90 days to complete the following:
		  a.   Obtain a copy of your driving record.  You may do this online at www.texasonline.com with a credit card or 	

	         completing the DPS form (available at www.txdps.state.tx.us) by following the instructions written on the form.
		  b.   Complete a Driving Safety Course that is state approved.  (A list is available at www.tea.state.tx.us/drive/.)

REVISED 12

TELEPHONE CALLS DO NOT CONSTITUTE APPEARANCE.

Additional general information is available online at www.co.brazos.tx.us/courts/jp.  Information about your case is available at 
 https://justiceweb.brazoscountytx.gov/brazosportal (JP criminal search) after the JP office receives and enters your case.

*



PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE:
Name (as appears on license)___________________________________________________________________________________

Citation #___________________________________________Date of Citation________________________________________________

Date cited to appear__________________________________________Driver's License #______________________________________

Mailing Address_______________________________________________________________________________________________

     City___________________________________  State_________________________________  Zip Code_____________________
                                                                                                    
Home Phone# (           _____   )_________________________________Cell Phone #(_________)___________________________________

Complete either A or B below
   A. PLEA FORM
Check One:
;	 1.	 I hereby enter a plea of GUILTY and waive appearance for trial.  CASHIER'S CHECK OR MONEY ORDER in the amount 

of the fine is enclosed payable to Brazos County.
;	 2.	 I hereby enter a plea of NOLO CONTENDERE  and waive appearance for trial.  CASHIER'S CHECK OR MONEY ORDER 

in the amount of the fine is enclosed payable to Brazos County.
;	 3.	 I hereby enter a plea of NOLO CONTENDERE and request deferred disposition (must contact appropriate court for details).
;	 4.	 I hereby enter a plea of NOT GUILTY and request	 ;  a.    Trial by Judge 		  ;  b.   Trial by Jury
	
Signed this______________ day  of ________________________, 20 _______, ______________________________________________

	

   B. DRIVING SAFETY COURSE APPLICATION
	 	
		  I hereby request to take a Driving Saftey Course CCP Art. 45.0511. Enclosed is my notarized request, proof of liability insur-

ance, a copy of my drivers license, and a cashier's check or money order in the amount of $112.00
		  School Zone $137.00
		
		  My Plea is :	 ;  Guilty	 ;   Nolo Contendere
     I certify that  I have a valid Texas driver's license or permit; that the alleged speed was not 25 mph or more above the posted limit; or 
a speed of 95 mph or more and that I have not completed a course under CCP Art. 45.0511 within the past 12 months and am not in the 
process of taking such a course; and that I have not completed  a course under CCP Art. 45.0511 which is not reflected on my driving 
record in this state or any other state.
     I understand that I will be charged court costs and a dismissal fee and that these fees are non-refundable and must be paid to the 
court before my charge will be dismissed.
      I understand that I am not eligible for the Driving Safety Course unless I provide proof of liability insurance as required by Texas Motor 
Vehicle Safety-Responsibility Act.

					     Signature of Defendant-Under penalty of perjury

Signed this _______day of ______________________________20 ______________.
Acknowledged and signed before me	

REPLY FORM
Mail to the Justice Court Marked on the reverse side of this letter.

Enclose a copy of the Citation and Your Drivers License with your reply.
You are required to keep the court advised of your mailing address until the case is disposed.

JUVENILES 16 & UNDER MUST CONTACT COURT WITH PARENT
OR GUARDIAN BEFORE THEIR APPEARANCE DATE

Plea Must Be Made In Writing or In Person On or Before Your Appearance Date
Telephone Call Does Not Constitute Appearance

Notary Public of the State of Texas

Signature of Defendant

OTHER VIOLATIONS

Pay By Cashier's Check or Money Order
NO PERSONAL CHECKS             Payable to:   Brazos County

To pay online or by phone, call the appropriate Justice of the Peace office.

SCHEDULE OF ACCEPTABLE FINES (Including Court Cost)
APPLICABLE TO MOST MOTOR VEHICLES

This  schedule applies fines paid on or before your appearance date

CONTACT THE APPROPRIATE COURT (IN PERSON OR IN WRITING) FOR:
	 1.	 Charges or fines not listed
	 2.	 Fines for any offense which occurred in school zone
	 3.	 CONSTRUCTION ZONE VIOLATIONS (W/ workers present)
	 4.	 Commercial overweight truck fines MAY exceed $7,000
You can look up your case at https://justiceweb.brazoscountytx.gov/brazosportal and perform 
a JP Criminal search available after court receives your case.

SPEEDING OVER THE LIMIT
1 mph to 9 mph..............................................................................................................................172.00
10 mph to 14 mph..........................................................................................................................212.00
15 mph to 19 mph..........................................................................................................................222.00
20 mph to 22 mph..........................................................................................................................232.00
23 mph to 24 mph..........................................................................................................................262.00
25 mph or over ....................................................................................................................302.00
School Zone ....................................................................................................................327.00

Littering...........................................................................................................................................402.00
Disregard Stop Sign / Traffic Light / Traffic Control Device............................................................227.00
Window Tint....................................................................................................................................202.00
Racing or Contest of Speed...........................................................................................................302.00

Passing Violations.....................................(Except Emergency Vehicles)...................................177.00
Illegal or Improper Turn..................................................................................................................187.00
*No Driver's License / No Hunting License / No fishing License....................................................252.00
Expired Driver's License.................................................................................................................252.00
Permit Unlicensed Person or Minor to Drive..................................................................................252.00
Operate Unregistered / Expired Vehicle Registration ....................................................................152.00
No Valid Inspection Certificate........................................................................................................152.00
Equipment Violations......................................................................................................................202.00
Fail to Stop for School Bus........................................................................First Offense............... 502.00
Bicycle Violations............................................................................................................................142.00
No Approved Motorcycle Helmet When Required..........................................................................152.00
**No Liability Insurance.............................................................................First Offense............... 402.00
Seat Belt Violation........(Driver)......................................................................................................152.00
Unrestrained Child or Child Safety Seat Violation........................................................... 152.00 - 252.00
Alcoholic Beverage Code Violations...............................................Contact Court in Person or in Writing
Violate Promise to Appear (Traffic).................................................................................................282.00
Fail to Appear (Criminal).................................................................................................................502.00
Public Intoxication .........................................................................................................................452.00

*Charges will be dismissed upon presentation of a valid driver's license or a hunter education 
certificate (if applicable) to the Court, provided the license was valid at the time the Citation was 
issued, and is presented to the Court within 10 days from the date the Citation was issued.

**Charges will be dismissed upon presentation of evidence of Liability Insurance to the Court, 
provided the insurance was valid at the time the Citation was issued and is verified by the Court. 

Please Note:  Neither the Justice Court nor the officer issuing the citation recieves any portion of 
your fine(s).  All such fines are deposited in the Brazos County Treasury.

DO NOT MAIL CASH 

NO PERSONAL CHECKS
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