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Filing Requirements for an 

Occupational Driver’s License: 

Please provide the following documents along with the completed 

petition for Occupational Driver’s License: 

 Certified Abstract (Type AR) of your driving record from DPS

 SR-22 proof of insurance from your insurance company.

 Complete list of ALL COUNTIES you will be driving in/through.

(i.e. If you are driving from Brazos County to Bexar County, you

will need a list of every county you will drive through to reach

Bexar County)

 Hours you are requesting to drive (can be no more than 12 hour

span per day, i.e. 8:00am-5:00pm)

 Proof that you need to drive to work, school, or perform essential

household duties.

 A copy of the court order suspending your license and/or the notice

of suspension from DPS.

A hearing will not be scheduled until all documentation is provided. 

If you have a COURT ORDER for an interlock device, please provide a 

legible copy of the order along with your completed petition.  A list of 

counties and driving hours are not required if you have a court order for 

an interlock device.  Texas Transportation Code 521.248(d) 

FAILURE TO PROVIDE ALL REQUIRED 

DOCUMENTATION WILL RESULT IN YOUR 

CASE NOT BEING FILED.



 

Texas Occupational Drivers License (ODL) 

Where can I read the law? 

You can read the Texas laws 

about Occupational Driver’s 

Licenses and surcharges in: 

 Texas Transportation Code

chapter 521 subchapter L

 Texas Transportation Code

chapter 601.

 Texas Health and Safety Code

section 469.009.

 Texas Administrative  Code,

Title 7, Subtitle  B, Ch. 521,

Subtitle I, Ch. 708.

If your Texas driver’s license was suspended,  revoked, or 

denied but you need to drive …  you may still be allowed to drive under certain

circumstances if you get an occupational driver’s license (ODL). 

Caution!
The process can take 
weeks to complete and 
can get complicated.  

You may need to hire an attorney to 
help you reach your goal. 

Overview of Steps: 

1. Check the status of your

license to see if you really need

to get an Occupational Driver’s

License (ODL) or if you can rein-

state your license at

www.Texas.gov/driver.

2. Check to see if you qualify for

an ODL.

3. Gather the forms and infor-

mation you need to ask the

Court to order DPS to issue you

an ODL.

4. File your forms with the Clerk

of the Court.

5. Go to Court to ask the Judge to

sign the Order.

6. If the Judge signs the order,

mail the paperwork and fees to

DPS right away.

See pages 3-4 for instructions... 

Can anyone get an ODL? 

No. You cannot get an ODL if:  

 you lost your driving privileg-

es because of a mental or

physical disability,

 you lost your driving privileg-

es for failure to pay child

support,

 you need it to drive a com-

mercial motor vehicle,

 the judge thinks you do not

have an essential need,

 the judge is worried about

public safety,

 you have received two ODLs

in the past 10 years after a

conviction, or

 you have a “hard suspen-

sion” waiting period due to a

prior DWI arrest or convic-

tion.
You can read the statutes online at:  

www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us. 

What is an “Occupational 

Driver’s License” or ODL?* 

An occupational driver’s license 
(ODL) is a restricted license that 

lets you drive at certain times, 

on specific days, under certain 

conditions, when you have an 

“essential need to drive.” 

An “essential need” means you 
need to drive to:  

 do your job, 

 get to and from work or 

school, or 

 do essential household duties. 

*Caution: Effective September 1, 2015, if your license has been suspended due to an intoxication

Offense under Penal  Code 49.04 – 49.08, and you are obtaining an Occupational License: 

 any vehicle you own or operate MUST be equipped with a working ignition interlock device in accordance with 

Texas Transportation Code Section 521.2465 for the entire period of the suspension (see Code of Criminal Procedure 

Section 13, Article 42.12);  and 

 you are not required to prove essential need and the ODL is not subject to any time of travel, reason for travel, or 
location of travel restrictions (see Transportation Code 521.244 (e) and 521.248 (d)). 
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Step 2  Do you qualify for an ODL? 
Even if you get a court order for an Occupational Driver’s License, DPS cannot issue one if: 

 You lost your driving privileges for a medical condition. 

 You lost your driving privileges because you owe child support. 

 You have received two ODLs after a conviction in the past 10 years. 

 You don’t qualify to get a Texas driver’s license because you are in the United States unlawfully. The documents to 

verify that you are a citizen or that you are in the United States lawfully are listed at: 

 www.txdps.state.tx.us/DriverLicense/ApplyforLicense.htm 

 

Step 1 Do you really need an ODL?  Or can you reinstate your license? 

Sometimes people think they need an Occupational 

Driver’s License when they could just reinstate their 

license.  

Before asking the court for an ODL, check your 

license eligibility status at: 

 www.Texas.gov/driver  

Click on “Drivers License Reinstatement and Status.” 

Step 3 Gather your paperwork 

You can also call the  

Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS)  

to check your eligibility/qualifying status: 

 512-424-2600 (English)  

512-424-7181 (Español) 

This free site will tell you if you can drive with your current 

license and, if not, what you need to do to become eligible. If 

you are not eligible, the website will tell you: 

1. The requirements to meet. 

2. The fees you need to pay. 

3. About surcharge waiver programs.  

You can pay fees on this website and get information on how to 

mail proof that you met the compliance requirements to DPS.  

Keep checking the website because it is updated daily.  

                   
                   Be careful! Recent court actions, out-of–state 
violations, and AG-reported child support arrearages 
may not be reflected in your current eligibility status. 

 Two court forms: 
1) The Petition for Occupational Driver’s License asks the 

Court to issue an order.  
2) The Order for Occupational Driver’s License orders DPS 

to issue you an ODL. 

Print the court forms at www.TexasLawHelp.org.  
You can also use the interactive forms interview on  
TexasLawHelp. With this program, you answer questions 
about your need to drive, etc. Then you print out the  
prefilled-in forms. 

 Certified Abstract (Type AR) of your driving record from 
DPS: Get your  Type AR Certified Abstract: 

*By mail with form DR-36 (takes 3-4 weeks, costs $20) or 
       *Online (quickly, cost $22 & must have audit number) at 
        www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm. 

 Proof that you need to drive to go to work, school, 

or perform essential household duties, etc.  

Examples of proof: your school schedule or 

registration, a current pay stub, a letter from 

your job, or an affidavit (sworn statement) 

explaining your need to drive. 

 SR-22 proof of insurance from your insurance 

company: Get the SR-22 (also called a 

“Financial Responsibility Certificate”) from 

your insurance company. The SR-22 proves 

that you have the minimum liability insur-

ance required by law. If you don’t own a vehi-

cle, you can get a Texas Non-Owner SR-22 

Insurance Policy. Your insurance company 

will tell DPS if the SR-22 coverage lapses, ter-

minates or is cancelled—and then your ODL 

will be revoked. 



 

 

When you go to Court, bring: 

1. The Order for an Occupational 
Driver’s License form. Fill out 
all but the restrictions and the 
judge’s signature.  

2. A Certified Abstract of your 
full driver record (Type AR). 

3. The SR-22 from your insur-
ance company. 

4. Some courts may require a 
copy of the court order sus-
pending your license and/or 
the notice of suspension from 
DPS. 

5. Proof that you need to drive. 

6. A copy of the filed Petition.  

Note: If you filed an Affidavit of  

Indigency to waive the court filing 

fees, the court may require proof 

of income & expenses. 

At the hearing: The judge reviews 

your Petition and other paper-

work. Then the judge decides 

whether or not to sign the Order 

granting an occupational license.  

If the judge signs the order, he/

she will mark the restrictions as to 

when and where you can drive. 

After the judge signs your order, 

get a certified copy of your filed 

Petition and at least two certified 

copies of the Order from the  

clerk.  

Step 6 Texas Department of Public Safety 

Step 5 Go to Court 

Go to Court the day of your hearing.  Arrive early.   

When you file your Petition for Occupa-

tional License with the Court you are ask-

ing the court to order DPS to issue you 

an Occupational Driver’s License. 

If your license was automatically sus-

pended or cancelled following a convic-

tion, file the Petition in the same court 

that convicted you.   

If your license was not suspended or 
cancelled following a conviction, file the 
Petition in the county where you live or 
where the offence occurred. You may 
have a choice between filing in District 
Court,  County Court-at-Law or Justice 
of the Peace (JP) court. If so, you may 
want to research local procedures, court 
costs, and court scheduling to decide 
which court is best for your situation.   

Ask the court clerk when you should 
come back for the hearing. You may 
need to schedule a time for your hearing.  

Note:  Travis County residents can re-
view the Instructions for Travis County 
ODL Filers for local procedure infor-
mation.  

Step 4 File your papers 

with the Court 

A court’s occupational  drivers license Order is not the 

license itself. Rather, it is a court order telling the Texas 

Department of Public Safety (DPS) to issue an occupational 

drivers license to you. After you get the court Order, you must 

contact DPS to get the actual occupational drivers license. 

 Mail the following  documents to DPS as soon as possible! 

 a certified copy of your Petition for ODL 

 a certified copy of the Order for ODL that was signed 

by the Judge 

 your SR-22 proof of insurance certificate,  

 A check, money order or cashier’s check payable to the 

Texas DPS for the Occupational License fee. Send $10 

for a 1-year license or $20 for a 2-year license. 

 A check, money order or cashier’s check made out 

to the Texas Department of Public Safety for the 

amount you owe in reinstatement fees, if any. 

Go to www.Texas.gov/driver or call DPS at  

512-424-2600 to find out what you owe.   

Mail all the documents together by certified mail return 

receipt requested (so that you have proof you mailed 

them) to:      

       Texas DPS  

 Central Cash Receiving  

        Box 15999 

     Austin, Texas  78761-5999 

You may use a certified copy of the Order for ODL to 
drive for 45days after the order takes effect.  Read your 

order to learn when it takes effect.  See FAQ about waiting periods. 

If you don’t receive your ODL before the 45th day you can’t drive until 
you either receive the ODL or go back to court to get an Amended 
Order for ODL that extends the deadline. 
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Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) 
Will the State have a lawyer against me at the 

hearing?  

Sometimes, if your license was suspended because:  

• of a criminal homicide, or an intoxication offense 
under Penal Code 49.04— 49.08  

• you were under 21 and your license was sus-
pended according to Texas Transportation Code, 
521.342.  

How do I get a Certified Abstract (Type AR) of my 

driving record? 

You may purchase your driving record online, with 

a credit card and print it out.  The online cost is 
$22.  You will need to enter your driver’s license 

number and license audit number and the last four  
digits of your social security number at: 
www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm 

To get a Certified Abstract by mail, print the DR-36 
form called “Request for a Certified Abstract of a 
Driver Record” from 
www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm 

Mail the completed form and a $20 check or money 
order to Texas DPS.  This form does not require the 
audit number or your social security number.  

Can I drive after the Judge signs the Order?  

You may use a certified copy of the Order for ODL to 
drive for 45 days once the order takes effect.   

Read your Order to learn when it takes effect.  

If you don’t receive your actual ODL from DPS 
before the 45th day you can’t drive until you either 
receive the ODL or go back to court to get an 
Amended Order for ODL that extends the deadline. 

Waiting Periods— Why wouldn’t an Order take 

effect as soon as the Judge signs it? 

An Order for ODL will take effect as soon as a judge 
signs it  UNLESS one of the following waiting 
periods (also called “hard suspension” applies. 

If your license was suspended for refusing or failing 
a blood or breath test when arrested for DWI or other 
alcohol or drug-related driving or boating offense, 
the order for ODL cannot take effect for:  

 90 days after your license was suspended —if 
during the 5 years before your arrest your 
license was suspended because of an alcohol or 
drug-related arrest. 

 180 days after your license was suspended — if 
during the 5 years before your arrest your 
license was suspended because of a DWI, Intox-
ication Assault, or Manslaughter conviction.   

 365 days after your license was suspended — if 
during the 5 years before your arrest your  
license was suspended because of a second (or 
more) DWI,  Intoxication Assault, or Man-
slaughter conviction.  

How long will it take to get my ODL from DPS? 

Processing time runs between three and four weeks 

unless a waiting period (see above) applies. Call 

DPS for more information at (English) 512-424-2600 

or 512-424-7181 (Español). 

What happens after I get my ODL from DPS? 

 Maintain your SR-22 insurance.  If your insur-
ance lapses, your Occupational Driver’s License 
will be revoked. 

 Always keep your ODL, a certified copy of the 
court order for ODL and proof of SR-22 insur-
ance with you when you drive.  It is a Class B 
misdemeanor to drive without a certified copy 
of the court order in your possession. 

 Only drive when and where the court order for 
ODL allows you to drive.  It is a Class B misde-
meanor to drive at other times or places.  

 If the times and/or places you need to drive 
changes, go back to court to modify the Order. 

Surcharge Indigency/Incentive Programs 

If your license was suspended for failure to pay a 
surcharge and you have a low income DPS may:  

1.  reduce any surcharge amount you owe and  

2.  let you keep driving while you make payments 
on the surcharge amount.  For more information 
about this program go to: 

www.txsurchargeonline.com 
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Petition for Occupational Driver’s License 

Print your answers: 

My name is: . 
First Middle  Last 

I am the Petitioner, and I am asking the court for an Occupational Driver’s License. 

I ask the Court to consider the information I have provided below. 

Upon approval of this Petition, I ask the Clerk to send a certified copy of the Petition and the 
court Order setting out the judge’s findings and restrictions to the Texas Department of Public 
Safety. 

I.  Petitioner’s Personal Information 

1. Home address:
Street address City 

, Texas 
County   Zip 

2. Mailing address (if different from above):

3. Phone number:  (  ) 

4. Email address:

5. Date of birth:
 Month Day  Year 

6. The last four digits of my Social Security Number are

Or

I do not have a Social Security Number. 

Ex Parte 

Print your name 

First  Middle  Last 

 The clerk fills out below 

Cause No: 

    District  County  Justice Court of: 

 County, Texas 

X
Precinct Two, Brazos
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II. Driver’s License Information

5. Check all that apply and provide requested information:

I have never held a Texas Driver’s License.  

My Texas Driver’s License # is:  .  Expiration date:   /  /   , 

My Driver’s License was issued by the state of . 

My Driver’s License number is . Expiration date:   /  /    , 

6. Is your license suspended because of a physical or mental disability?  Yes   No 

Is your license suspended for non-payment of child support?  Yes   No 

Have you had 2 or more occupational driver’s licenses because of a 

conviction in the last 10 years?   Yes  No 

III. Notice to the State If Applicable

7. If any of the following are applicable, the Clerk of the Court should serve the State with
notice of this Petition as required by the Texas Transportation Code section 521.243(a).

(Check all that apply and fill in the blanks.)

A. My license is suspended under Transportation Code section 521.342. (Conviction of
various offenses of an individual under the age of 21) 

 Yes  No 

Date of conviction       Court of conviction 

B. My license is suspended because I was convicted of: 

a. Criminally Negligent Homicide Penal Code 19.05 

b. Driving While Intoxicated Penal Code 49.04

c. Driving While Intoxicated with Child Passenger Penal Code 49.045

d. Flying While Intoxicated Penal Code 49.05

e. Boating While Intoxicated Penal Code 49.06

f. Assembling or Operating an Amusement Ride While Intoxicated  Penal Code 49.065

g. Intoxication Assault Penal Code 49.07

h. Intoxication Manslaughter Penal Code 49.08 

 on  in ______________________________     __________________________ 
 Date of conviction  Court of conviction County of Conviction 
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IV. Suspensions and Charges

8. Why is your Driver’s License suspended? (Check all that apply and fill in the blanks):

A.  I was arrested on  /    /  and the breath sample I provided registered above 0.08. 
 (date) 

B.  I was arrested on        /      /  , and I did not give a breath sample, as requested. 
    (date) 

Within the past ten (10) years from the date of the arrest that led to your current suspension, 

have you had a suspension for refusal to give a breath/blood sample or providing a sample 

with a blood alcohol content greater than .08 following an arrest for DWI?  

 YES   NO 

C.  This court convicted me of  on (date)     /   /  . 

D.  A Texas court determined that I am a “habitual violator of traffic laws.” 

E. A Texas court ordered me to go to a Driver Education Program, and my license, 
permit, and/or driving privilege is automatically suspended for 365 days.  

F. Other (If you did not check any of the above, why is your license suspended or invalid? Be 
specific.) 

9. I have the following criminal charges pending: (You do not need to list traffic or Class C charges.)
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V.  Petitioner’s Essential Need to Drive 

If your license is suspended based on  an offense under Penal Code 49.04 - 49.08, you are 
required to have an interlock device installed on each motor vehicle you own or operate, and you 

do not need to complete Numbers 10, 11, and 12 below. 

10. Why do you need an Occupational Driver’s License? (Check all that apply):

I need an Occupational Driver’s License to drive to and from my place of work. 

Name of Employer #1:  

Employer’s Address:   

Days and hours you work:  

Job title: 

Name of Employer #2:  

Employer’s Address:   

Days and hours you work: 

Job title: 

I need to drive to school. (Fill out below): 

School Name: 

School Address:   

Days and hours of your classes:  

Other (explain): 

11. Driving schedule you are requesting:

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday 

 From:  am/pm  am/pm  am/pm  am/pm  am/pm  am/pm  am/pm

To:  am/pm  am/pm  am/pm  am/pm  am/pm  am/pm  am/pm

12. If you are asking the Court to allow you to drive for more than 4 hours per day, explain why below:



CV-ODL-100 Petition for Occupational Driver’s License (Rev. 8-2017) 
©TexasLawHelp.org Page 5 of 5 

VI. Petitioner’s Request to the Court

13. I ask the Court to order the Texas Department of Public Safety to issue me an
Occupational Driver’s License to drive for the purposes described above.

I further ask this Court to order the Texas Department of Public Safety to administer any
and all tests required for the issuance of said Occupational License.

Petitioner’s name (print) 

Petitioner’s signature Date 

Unsworn Declaration Made Under Penalty of Perjury 
As allowed by Section 132.001 of the Texas Civil Practices and Remedies Code, I am filing this Unsworn 
Declaration in support of the Petition for Occupational Driver’s License in place of a Verified Petition.* 

My current legal name is: 
_______________________________________________________________. 
First    Middle    Last 

My date of birth is: ______/_______/________. 
 Month         Day           Year 

My address is: 
_______________________________________________________________________ 

Street Address  City  State  Zip Code  Country 

I declare under penalty of perjury that all information in this Petition is true and correct.  I 

understand I could be prosecuted for lying on this form.  

Formally signed in _____________________________________County, _________________ 
County                                                            State 

on this date: _______/______/_______. 
     Month          Day          Year 

_________________________________________ 
Signature of Person Asking for  
Occupational Driver’s License  

*Pursuant to Texas Civil Practice and Remedies Code Section 132.001, an unsworn declaration may be used in lieu of a written
sworn declaration, verification, certification, oath, or affidavit required by statute or required by a rule, order, or requirement adopted 
as provided by law. This provision does not apply to an oath of office or an oath required to be taken before a specified official other 
than a notary public. An unsworn declaration made under this section must be 1) in writing, 2) signed by the person making the 
declaration as true under penalty of perjury and 3) in substantially the form used above. 

See below for a list of documents to attach to this Petition: 

A certified abstract (Type AR) of your driver’s license record. 

An SR22 from your insurance company providing proof of current valid auto liability insurance. 

Proof of need to drive: Examples of proof:  A letter from your employer or immediate supervisor on your employer’s letterhead 
that verifies your work schedule, a current pay stub, school registration with schedule, or your sworn affidavit explaining to the 
court why you need to drive unless your license is suspended solely based on an intoxication offense under Penal Code 49.04 
– 49.08 and any vehicle you own or operate must be equipped with an interlock device.
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