EVICTION INSTRUCTIONS (PLEASE READ CAREFULLY)

You are strongly encouraged to read the new Rules of Civil Procedure. There are
numerous changes to the eviction laws, such as Bond for Immediate Possession and other

provisions.

e The timeline for the hearing date is slightly different (Rule 510.4 (10))

e The rules for Bond of Possession have changed (Rule 510.5)

e Writ of Possession EXPIRES after 60 days (used to be indefinite) (Rule 510.8 (d)(1)
e Appeal rules have been modified under Rule 510.9

1. Evictions must be filed in the proper Justice of the Peace Court. Checks or Money
Orders are accepted. Cash must be for the exact amount only. Your property must be
properly marked with the physical address assigned by the 911 emergency address
system or the Appraisal District. If your property is not clearly marked, the Constable
may return the eviction citation unserved, and you will have to start over. Location
number can be posted by numbers on the building property or by numbers located on
a sign posted in front of the property.

Chapter 24 of the Texas Property Code requires that an eviction suit MUST be filed in the
county and precinct where the property is located. If an eviction suit is not filed in the
appropriate precinct, the case will be dismissed. You will not be entitled to a refund of
filing fees and/or service fees.

2. By law, you must give a NOTICE TO VACATE before you can file an EVICTION SUIT.
The landlord must give the tenant at least 3 days written notice to vacate before
filing this eviction, unless the lease signed by both parties states otherwise. The NOTICE
TO VACATE must be in writing and comply with Section 24.005 of the Texas Property
Code, which is found at http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Search.aspx. A defective
NOTICE TO VACATE can result in DISMISSAL of your Eviction.

3. MOBILE HOME CASES: If you are seeking an eviction based on late rent payments for a
'MOBILE HOME LOT (tenant -owns mobile home, you lease then them lot), you are
required by law to give the Tenant a ten-day NOTICE TO CURE before you can file an
eviction (SEC. 94.206, Texas Property Code). Without the NOTICE TO CURE, your case
will be dismissed. If they do not cure the problem after the ten-day notice, you then
give them a three day NOTICE TO VACATE. Texas Law contains specific rules regarding
Mobile Homes. You can locate these laws on the Texas Property Code website,
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/PR/htm/PR.94.htm.

4. Court cost for filing an eviction on one tenant is $146.00. Section 510.2 of the NEW
Texas Rules of Civil Procedure states “The plaintiff must name as defendants all tenants
obligated under the lease residing at the premises. You can ONLY get a judgment against
the defendant served. If you wish to have a judgment against two parties, then you
MUST pay for service and have both parties served. This is an additional $100.00 per
defendant.

5. ATTORNEY’S FEES: to be eligible to recover attorney’s fees in an eviction suite, a notice
to vacate must be served by a process server, personally with a witness, or by return
receint reauested certified mail ten davs prior to the date the suit is filed.



6. WHO MAY FILE: The owner of the owner’s agent may file any type of forcible detainer
suit, and he may represent the owner in the hearing.

7. JOINING A SUIT FOR RENT: A suit for rent may be joined with the eviction suit, if
the amount due is within the jurisdiction of this court. ($10,000.00). Any damages, late
charges, utilities, or other charges may not be included in this action; HOWEVER, The
.owner or the owner’s attorney may file suit for these amounts in a separate action
filed in either Justice Civil or Small Claims Court.

8. PROCEDURES AFTER FILING: At the time the suit is filed, a hearing date will be set at
least 10 days out but no more than 21 days from the filing date. A citation will be issued
to the Constable’s Office to be served on the tenant giving them the date and time of
the hearing.

9. THE HEARING: You are required to appear personally for the hearing. Proper
representation is essential (as per item #5 above). At the court hearing, both sides will
have the right to present their side of the case, including witnesses, receipts, cancelled
checks, photographs, and all other evidence. You will need to bring all evidence with you
to Court. The burden of proof lies with you as plaintiff. You must show the Court good
and sufficient evidence proving your right to regain possession of the property. You
must still prove your case even if the defendant fails to appear.

10. JUDGMENT: At the hearing, a judgment will be rendered for either the plaintiff or
the defendant. A judgment for the plaintiff may be for all or part of the initial claim. If
you are awarded a judgment for possession of the premises and/or any back rent owed
there is a 6 day appeal period in which the defendant may appeal the decision to the
County Court. If the Defendant has not appealed the case at the end of the appeal
period, judgment becomes final.

Upon final judgment, you may then file for a Writ of Possession if the defendant has still

not vacated the premises. A writ of possession has a court fee of $130.00. This is a

writ that authorizes the Constable to supervise while the Plaintiff removes the

property from the premises. You may wish to contact the Constable at 979- 361—4477 for
"~ more information on writs of possession. . -

Every Eviction Suit must include these documents:
e Sworn Complaint for Eviction
e Notice to Vacate
e lease
e Service Members Civil Relief Affidavit
Certificate of Last Known Address
Civil Process Additional Information Sheet

THIS OFFICE MAY NOT GIVE ANY LEGAL ADVICE



CAUSE NO.

Plaintiff 8§ IN THE JUSTICE COURT
Vs. § PRECINCT ___ PLACE ___
Defendant(s} § BRAZOS COUNTY, TEXAS

SWORN COMPLAINT FOR EVICTION FOR MANUFACTURED HOME COMMUNITY

1. Thisis a suit brought by a Landlord under Chapter 94, Property Code with Level 1 Discovery for the eviction of Tenant(s) with a written
lease in a manufactured home community. Landlord is not the owner of the manufactured home or recreational vehicle. Owner of the
manufactured home community is:

2. COMPLAINT: Plaintiff (Landlord) hereby complains of the Defendant(s) (Tenants) named above for eviction of Plaintiff's premises
(including the manufactured home lot, any area or facilities authorized by the lease, storerooms and parking areas) located in the
above precinct. Address of the property is:

Street Address Unit No. (If any) City ‘ Zip

3. SERVICE OF CITATION: Service is requested on Defendant(s) by personal service at home or work or by alternative service as allowed
by the Texas Justice Court Rules of Court. Other service of papers address/addresses (if knows) are:

4. [CJUNPAID RENT AS GROUNDS FOR EVICTION: Defendant(s) failed to pay rent for the following time period(s):

. TOTAL DELINQUENT RENT AS OF DATE OF FILING IS: $
Plaintiff reserves the right to orally amend the amount at trial to include rent due from the date of filing through the date of trial.
Rental Subsidy {if any) $ , Tenant’s Portion $ , TOTAL MONTHLY RENT $ , Dailyrent $

5. [JOTHER GROUNDS FOR EVICTION/LEASE VIOLATIONS: Lease Violations (if other than non-paid rent — list lease violations)

6. [JHOLDOVER AS GROUNDS FOR EVICTION: Defendant(s) are unlawfully holding over since failing to vacate at the end of the rental
term or renewal of extension period, which was the day of _. _,20 .

7. NOTICE TO CURE & NOTICE TO VACATE: Plaintiff has given Defendant(s) written notice to cure delivered to Defendant{s) on the

__day of ,20 ___ by personal delivery or by mail. The time for cure has passed and the Defendant(s) has not
cured. Plaintiff has given Defendant(s) Written Notice to Vacate and Demand for Possession. Such notice was delivered on the
day of ,20 ___, delivered by this method:

8. ATTORNEY'S FEES: Plaintiff Cwill be or Owill NOT be seeking applicable attorney's fees. Aftorney's name, address, phone & fax
numbers are:

9. [ BOND FOR POSSESSION: If Plaintiff will file a bond for possession, Plaintiff requests (1) the amount of Plaintiff's bond and
Defendant's counter bond be set, (2) that Plaintiff's bond be approved by the Court, and (3) that proper notices as required by the
Texas Justice Court Rules are given to Defendant(s). ‘ . )

10. REQUEST FOR JUDGMENT: Plaintiff prays that Defendant(s) be served with citation and that Plaintiff have judgment against
Defendant(s) for: possession of premises, including removal of Defendant(s) and Defendants’ possessions from the premises, unpaid
rent IF set forth above, attorney’s fees, court costs, and interest on the above sums at the rate stated in the rental contract, or if not so
stated, at the statutory rate for judgments under Civil Statutes Article 5069-1.05.

11. | consent for the answer and any other motions or pleadings to be sent to my email address which is:

Petitioner's Printed Name Signature of Plaintiff (Landlord/Property Owner) or Agent

DEFENDANT(S) INFORMATION (if known): Address of Plaintiff (Landlord/Property Owner) or Agent

DATE OF BIRTH:

*| AST 3 NUMBERS OF DRIVER LICENSE: i City State Zip

*| AST 3 NUMBERS OF SOCIAL SECURITY:

DEFENDANT’S PHONE NUMBER: Phone & Fax No. of Plaintiff (Landlord/Property Owneror agent
Sworn to and subscribed before me this day of _,20__.

JP Evict. Man Home Petition. Rev.08/2013 CLERK OF THE JUSTICE COURT OR NOTARY



JUDGE CELINA VASQUEZ

JUSTICE OF THE PEACE
BRAZOS COUNTY, PRECINCT 4
300 East 26 Street, Suite 460
Bryan, Texas 77803
Office (979) 361-4405 * Fax (979) 361-4502

LEGAL NOTICE TO VACATE AND RELEASE PREMISES

State of Texas
County of Brazos
Bryan, Texas 77803

Notice is served this day of 2019, to

and ALL OCCUPANTS located at

Bryan, Brazos County, Texas.

You are hereby notified to vacate the premises at

Bryan, Texas and to deliver possession to the undersigned within 3 days from service date of this notice.

REASON FOR NOTICE: NON-PAYMENT OF RENT (AMOUNT OWED) $

LEASE VIOLATION:

OTHER:

Should you fail, neglect or refuse to vacate said premises in 3 days from the service date of
this notice, I will take such legal action required by law to remove you from the premises.
The owner demands immediate possession of the premise identified above as soon as
possible for he reasons state above. You are hereby directed to remove all property and
return the key(s) to the owner.

OWNER/AGENT:
ADDRESS:




JUDGE CELINA VASQUEZ

JUSTICE OF THE PEACE
BRAZOS COUNTY, PRECINCT 4
300 East 26 Street, Suite 460
Bryan, Texas 77803
Office (979) 361-4405 * Fax (979) 361-4502

LEGAL NOTICE TO VACATE AND RELEASE PREMISES

- State of Texas
County of Brazos
Bryan, Texas 77803

Notice is served this day of 2019, to

and ALL OCCUPANTS located at

Bryan, Brazos County, Texas.

You are hereby notified to vacate the premises at

Bryan, Texas and to deliver possession to the undersigned within 10 days from service date of this
notice.

REASON FOR NOTICE: NON-PAYMENT OF RENT (AMOUNT OWED) $

'LEASE VIOLATION:

OTHER:

Should you fail, neglect or refuse to vacate said premises in 10 days from the service date
of this notice, I will take such legal action required by law to remove you from the
premises. The owner demands immediate possession of the premise identified above as
soon as possible for he reasons state above. You are hereby directed to remove all
property and return the key(s) to the owner. :

OWNER/AGENT:

ADDRESS:




CASE NO.

JUDGE CELINA VASQUEZ

JUSTICE OF THE PEACE
BRAZOS COUNTY, PRECINCT 4
300 East 26t Street, Suite 460
Bryan, Texas 77803
Office (979) 361-4405 * Fax (979) 361-4502

SERVICE MEMBER'S CIVIL RELIEF ACT

AFFIDAVIT

~ v

50 USC Sed. 5zu
Plaintiff being duly sworn on oath deposes* and says that defendant(s) is (are)

O O O O O O

(CHECK ONE)

not in the military

not on active duty in the military and/or

not in a foreign country on military service

on active military duty and/or is subject to the Service Member’s Civil Relief Act of 2003
has waived his/rights under the Service Member’s Civil Relief Act of 2003

military status is unknown at this time

PLAINTIFF

(Select the applicable title under the signature for the jurat below)

Subscribed and sworn to before me on this the day of , 20

NOTARY/CLERK
o Notary Public in and for the State of Texas
o Clerk of the Justice Court

SEAL

*penalty for making or using false affidavit - a person who makes or uses an affidavit knowing it to be
false, shall be fined as provided in Title 18, United States Code, or imprisoned for not more than one year,

or both.



Cause

In the Justice Court
Plaintiff
Vs Precinct Four
Defendant Brazos County, Texas
Certificate of Last Known Mailing Address
The undérsigned, , does hereby certify that the last

, is as follows:

known address cif Defendant,

Sworn to and subscribed before me on the

Signature

day of , 20

Notary Public



JUDGE CELINA VASQUEZ

JUSTICE OF THE PEACE
BRAZOS COUNTY, PRECINCT 4
300 East 26th Street, Suite 460
Bryan, Texas 77803
Office (979) 361-4405 * Fax (979) 361-4502

CIVIL PROCESS ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Civil Process Additional Information - | Cause # N
In order to expedite service and for the safety of our Deputies, we ask that you answer the following
question to the best of your ability. During your interaction with the Respondent, have or do you:

1. Have you witnessed any “abnormal” behavior?

2. Have you known, or known of, the Respondent being violent with anyone?

3. Have you been verbally or physically assaulted by the Respondent?

4. Know of an occasion where the Respondent has, or brandishes a weapon of any kind?

5. Does respondent have any dogs known to be aggressive?

6. Are you aware of any mental or emotional issues that the Respondent may have?

7. Are you aware of any police related calls regarding the Respondent?

8. Are there any other issues you think might be important for the Deputies to know?




