EVICTION INSTRUCTIONS (PLEASE READ CAREFULLY)

You are strongly encouraged to read the new Rules of Civil Procedure. There are
numerous changes to the eviction laws, such as Bond for Inmediate Possession and other
provisions. :

The timeline for the hearing date is slightly different (Rule 510.4 (10))

The rules for Bond of Possession have changed (Rule 510.5)

Writ‘of Possession EXPIRES after 60 days (used to be indefinite) (Rule 510.8 (d)(1)
. Appé_al rules have been modified under Rule 510.9

. Evictions must be filed in the proper Justice of the Peace Court. Checks or Money
Orders gre accepted. Cash must be for the exact amount only. Your property must be
properly: marked with_the physical address assigned by the 911 emergency address
system or the Appraisal District. If your property is not clearly marked, the Constable
may reti_:rn the eviction citation unserved, and you will have to start over. Location
number-can be posted by numbers on the building property or by numbers located on
a sign posted in front of the property.

Chapter’?4 of the Texas Property Code requires that an eviction suit MUST be filed in the
county and precinct where the property is located. If an eviction suit is not filed in the
appropriate precinct, the case will be dismissed. You will not be entitled to a refund of
filing feg_s and/or service fees.

By Iaw,fyou must give a NOTICE TO VACATE before you can file an EVICTION SUIT.
The landlord must give the tenant at least 3 days written notice to vacate before
filing this eviction, unless the lease signed by both parties states otherwise. The NOTICE
TO VACATE must be in writing and comply with Section 24.005 of the Texas Property
Code, which is found at http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Search.aspx. A defective
NOTICE TO VACATE can result in DISMISSAL of your Eviction.

. MOBILE‘ HOME CASES: If you are seeking an eviction based on late rent payments for a
MOBILE! HOME LOT (tenant owns mobile home, you lease then them lot), you are
required by law to give the Tenant a ten-day NOTICE TO CURE before you can file an
eviction*(SEC. 94.206, Texas Property Code). Without the NOTICE TO CURE, your case
will be dismissed. If they do not cure the problem after the ten-day notice, you then
give thefm a three day NOTICE TO VACATE. Texas Law contains specific rules regarding
Mobile {Homes. You can locate these laws on the Texas Property Code website,
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/PR/htm/PR.94.htm.

. Court cost for filing an eviction on one tenant is $146.00. Section 510.2 of the NEW
Texas Rgles of Civil Procedure states “The plaintiff must name as defendants all tenants
obligated under the lease residing at the premises. You can ONLY get a judgment against
the deféndant served. If you wish to have a judgment against two parties, then you
MUST p:‘ay for service and have both parties served. This is an additional $100.00 per
defendant.

. ATI'ORI\?EY’S FEES: to be eligible to recover attorney’s fees in an eviction suite, a notice
to vacate must be served by a process server, personally with a witness, or by return
receipt ‘requested certified mail ten days prior to the date the suit is filed.



6. WHO M"'I:\Y FILE: The owner of the owner’s agent may file any type of forcible detainer
suit, and he may represent the owner in the hearing.

7. JOINING A SUIT FOR RENT: A suit for rent may be joined with the eviction suit, if
the amount due is within the jurisdiction of this court. ($10,000.00). Any damages, late
charges,autlhtles, or other charges may not be included in this action; HOWEVER, The
owner or the owner’s attorney may file suit for these amounts in a separate action
filed in éither Justice Civil or Small Claims Court.

8. PROCED@JRES AFTER FILING: At the time the suit is filed, a hearing date will be set at
least 10 days out but no more than 21 days from the filing date. A citation will be issued
to the Constable’s Office to be served on the tenant giving them the date and time of
the hearing.

9. THE HEARING You are required to appear personally for the hearing. Proper
representatlon is essential (as per item #5 above). At the court hearing, both sides will
have the right to present their side of the case, including witnesses, receipts, cancelled
checks, photographs, and all other evidence. You will need to bring all evidence with you
to Court: The burden of proof lies with you as plaintiff. You must show the Court good
and sufﬂuent evidence proving your right to regain possession of the property. You
must st'i_;ll prove your case even if the defendant fails to appear.

10. JUDGMENT At the hearing, a judgment will be rendered for either the plaintiff or

the defendant A judgment for the plaintiff may be for all or part of the initial claim. If
you are “awarded a judgment for possession of the premises and/or any back rent owed
there is: a 6 day appeal period in which the defendant may appeal the decision to the
County Court if the Defendant has not appealed the case at the end of the appeal
period, j{udgment becomes final.
Upon final judgment, you may then file for a Writ of Possession if the defendant has still
not vacated the premises. A writ of possession has a court fee of $130.00. This is a
writ that authorizes the Constable to supervise while the Plaintiff removes the property
from the premises. You may wish to contact the Constable at 979-361-4266 for more
informafion on writs of possession.

Every Ewctlon Suit must include these documents:

. Swon? Complaint for Eviction

¢ Notice to Vacate

. Leasé'

. Serwce Members Civil Relief Affidavit
Justlce Court Civil Case Information Sheet
Certificate of Last Known Address
e Civil Rrocess Additional Information Sheet

TI-EIS OFFICE MAY NOT GIVE ANY LEGAL ADVICE




JUDGE CELINA VASQUEZ

JUSTICE OF THE PEACE
BRAZOS COUNTY, PRECINCT 4
300 East 26t Street, Suite 460
Bryan, Texas 77803
Office (979) 361-4405 * Fax (979) 361-4502

LEGAL NOTICE TO VACATE AND RELEASE PREMISES

State of Texas
County of Brazos
Bryan, Texas 77803

Notice is served this day of 2019, to

and ALL OCCUPANTS located at

Bryan, Brazos County, Texas.

You are hereby notified to vacate the premises at

Bryan, Texas and to deliver possession to the undersigned within 3 days from service date of this notice.

REASON FOR NOTICE: NON-PAYMENT OF RENT (AMOUNT OWED) $

" LEASE VIOLATION:

OTHER:

Should you fail, neglect or refuse to vacate said premises in 3 days from the service date of
this notice, 1 will take such legal action required by law to remove you from the premises.
The owner demands immediate possession of the premise identified above as soon as
possible for he reasons state above. You are hereby directed to remove all property and
return the key(s) to the owner.

OWNER/AGENT:
ADDRESS:




CAUSE NO.

Plaintiff § IN THE JUSTICE COURT
Vs, § PRECINCT ___ PLACE __
Defendant(s) § BRAZOS COUNTY, TEXAS

;SWORN COMPLAINT FOR EVICTION [ IWITH SUIT FOR RENT

COMPLAINT: Plaintiff (Landlord) hereby complains of the Defendant(s) named above for eviction of Plaintiff’s premises (including storerooms
and parking areas) located in the above precinct. Address of the property is:

Street Address ) Unit No. (If any) City Zip

SERVICE OF CITATION: Servicfe is requested on Defendant(s) by personal service at home or work or by alternative service as allowed by

the Texas Justice Court Rules of Court. Other service of papers address/addresses {if knows) are:
;

;

UNPAID RENT AS GROUNDS FOR EVICTION: Defendant(s) failed to pay rent for the following time period(s):

D i . TOTAL DELINQUENT RENT AS OF DATE OF FILING IS: $

Plaintiff reserves the nght to orally amend the amount at trial to include rent due from the date of filing through the date of trial.
Rental Subsidy {if any) $__ , Tenant’s Portion $ , TOTAL MONTHLY RENT $ , Daily rent §

1. ’:I OTHER GROUNDS FC}R EVICTION/LEASE VIOLATIONS: Lease Violations (if other than non-paid rent — list lease violations}

2, I:I HOLDOVER AS GROUNDS FOR EVICTION: Defendant(s) are unlawfully holding over since failing to vacate at the end of the rental
term or renewal of extension period, which was the day of , 20

3. NOTICE TO VACATE: Plairitiff has given Defendant(s) written notice to vacate (Chapter 24.005 Texas Property Code) and Demand for
Possession. Such notice was delivered on the day of delivered by this method:

4. ATTORNEY'S FEES: Plamt|ff will be D or will NOT be |:| seeking applicable attorney's fees. Attorney's name, address, phone & fax
numbers are: s

5, I:] BOND FOR POSSESSION If Plaintiff will file a bond for possession, Plaintiff requests (1) the amount of Plaintiff's bond and
Defendant's counter boncf be set, (2) that Plaintiff's bond be approved by the Court, and (3) that proper notices as required by the Texas
Justice Court Rules are glv.:gn to Defendant(s).

REQUEST FOR JUDGMENT: Plaintiff prays that Defendant(s) be served with citation and that Plaintiff have judgment against Defendant(s) for:
possession of premises, including:removal of Defendant(s) and Defendants’ possessions from the premises, unpaid rent IF set forth above,
attorney’s fees, court costs, and iAterest on the above sums at the rate stated in the rental contract, or if not so stated, at the statutory rate for
judgments under Civil Statutes Arpcle 5069-1.05.

D I consent for the answer and any other motions or pleadings to be sent to my email address which is:

1

Petitioner's Printed Name , Signature of Plaintiff (Landlord/Property Owner) or Agent

DEFENDANT(S) INFORMATION (if known): Address of Plaintiff (Landlord/Property Owner) or Agent

DATE OF BIRTH: &

*LAST 3 NUMBERS OF DRIVER LICENSE: City State Zip

*LAST 3 NUMBERS OF SOCIAL}. SECURITY:

DEFENDANT’S PHONE NUMBER: Phone & Fax No. of Plaintiff (Landlord/Property Owner)or agent
i

Sworn to and subscribed before n';ne this day of ,20___

JP Evict. Petition. Rev.08/2013 CLERK OF THE JUSTICE COURT OR NOTARY



CASE NO.

Plaintifi(s) § IN THE JUSTICE COURT
§
VS § PRECINCT 4
-. §
: § BRAZOS COUNTY, TEXAS

Defendant(s)
| MILITARY STATUS AFFIDAVIT

Plaintiff, or Plaintiffs representative, being duly sworn on oath deposes and says that, to the best
of my knowledge, Defendant(s)

u

is not in the military
is not on active duty in the military

is not in a foreign country on military service

§s on active duty and/or is subject to the Service Members Civil Relief Act 0f 2003

¥

has waived his rights under the Service Members Civil Relief Act of 2003

Military status is unknown at this time

Plaintiff/ Representative

i
¢

SIGNED AND SWORN TO before me on this___ day of :
20 ' ' ' R

CLERK OF THE COURT

{  Department of Defense Service Members Civil Relief Act Website:

Penalty for m?aking or using a false affidavit - A person who makes or uses an affidavit
knowing it to'be false, shall be fined as provided in Title 18 United States Code, or
imprisoned for not more than one year or both



Cause

Plaintiff f

Vs

Defendant

In the Justice Court

Precinct Four

Brazos County, Texas

Certificate of Last Known Mailing Address

, does hereby certify that the last

The undérsigned,

known address of Defendant,

, is as follows:

Sworn to and sui)scribed before me on the

Signature

day of , 20

Notary Public .



Isaac Butier Jr.
Brazos County Constable Pct 4

Civil Process Additional Information Cause #

In order to expedite service and for the safety of our Deputies, we ask that you answer the following questions to the
best of your ability.

1. Have y01f witnessed any “abnormal” behavior?

2. Have you known, or known of, the Respondent being violent with anyone?

3. Have y01;1 been verbally orA physically assaulted by the Respondent?

4. Known (jf an occasion where the Respondent has, or brandishes a weapon of any kind?

(?lease note if the weapon was a firearm, knife, or club or some other weapon.)

5. Does respondent have any dogs known to be aggressive?
6. Are you aware of any mental or emotional issues that the Respondent may have?
7. Are you aware of any police related calls regarding the Respondent?

B

8. Are there any other issues you think might be important for the Deputies to know?




